Macon Braves




The Macon Braves of Macon, Georgia, played twelve years in the South Atlantic League. In that time, they served as a Single-A affiliate of the Atlanta Braves. The team was born when the parent club moved the Sumter Braves (a team-owned affiliate) from South Carolina to the Atlanta satellite city of Macon.


In 1991, the first Macon Braves took to the turf at Luther Williams Field, which had been vacant since the departure of the Macon Pirates in ’87. The new team, like many of Atlanta’s affiliates over the years, looked like a mini version of the MLB club. Team colors, uniforms, logos, etc. were very similar to the parent club’s, with the place name Macon rendered in the Braves’ cursive font, underlined by a tomahawk. This wordmark logo graced the team’s caps trough the years, though toward the end, they had a simplified alternate design with merely the cursive M rather than the whole word.s-l1600-1.jpg

As you might expect, being an Atlanta affiliate in the nineties led to nice crop of future major leaguers. The alum list is headed by Hall-of-Famer Chipper Jones, as well as Jermaine Dye, Andruw Jones, Kevin Millwood, Jason Marquis, Bruce Chen, Marcus Giles, Rafael Furcal, and Adam Wainwright.

Luther Williams Field was built in the twenties, and after the turn of the millennium, Atlanta was looking for something fresh. After trying and failing to extort the city of Macon into building a new park, the Braves set their sights elsewhere. The end of the Macon Braves came following the 2002 season, when Atlanta simply moved their franchise to a city that was willing to shell out for a new park–Rome, Georgia. The Rome Braves play in the Sally League to this day.

















Alternate white cap



macon (1)
M cap









new one