Sarasota Reds




The Sarasota Reds of Sarasota, Florida, played five seasons in the Florida State League. For each of those seasons, the team served as the Class A-Advanced affiliate of the Cincinnati Reds. The team identity began following the 2004 season, when, for reasons unknown, the Sarasota Red Sox and their parent club went their separate ways. At that time, Cincinnati did their spring training in Sarasota, so perhaps there was a will to link the two cities.


The Sarasota Reds took to the field in 2005, and like many FSL teams over the years, they took on a COTOB identity, complete with Cincy-styled pinstriped uniforms. Red caps featured a logo consisting of a black S with a red R superimposed on it. Their primary logo had the city name arched over the parent club’s “Creds” logo, which is curious considering the the C in the logo is specifically for Cincinnati.


Though the team just missed having Joey Votto suit up as a prospect, they had a very good number of productive, and often outstanding, future big-leaguers pass through. Some of the bigger names are Johnny Cueto, Jay Bruce, Todd Frazier, Justin Turner, Travis Wood, Yonder Alonso, David Ross, Devin Mesoraco, and Didi Gregorius.

The Reds carpet was pulled out from underneath the team following the 2009 season, when Cincinnati switched their spring training to Arizona. By that time, Boston had bought their own High-A team in the Carolina League, and there were no other suitors for Sarasota. The team was bought by the Pittsburgh Pirates and moved a few miles north to their own spring training site. where they now play as the Bradenton Marauders.











download (1)







new one