Tampa Yankees



The Tampa Yankees of Tampa, Florida, played twenty-four seasons in the Florida State League. For that entire span, they served as the Class A-Advanced level affiliate of the New York Yankees.

s-l1600 (3)The team was founded in 1994, when the FSL added them (along with the Brevard County Manatees) as an expansion team. Tampa was owned and operated by the New York Yankees organization throughout its entire lifespan, and it was the epitome of a COTOB identity. In addition to sharing a nickname with the parent club, a simple midnight blue cap with team initials was worn along with Yankees-style home pinstripes and road grays. The branding would stay remarkably consistent through the years.

Being a Yankees affiliate for so many years during a goldenImage result for aaron judge tampa yankees era for New York meant that Tampa had a very strong list of major league alums. Two all-time greats in Derek Jeter and Mariano Rivera donned the TY cap in the inaugural 1994 season. Over the years, other future All-Stars and big league notables include Mike Lowell, Cristian Guzmán, Robinson Canó, Melky Cabrera, Tyler Clippard, Brett Gardner, Eduardo Núñez, David Robertson, Mark Melancon, Iván Nova, Dellin Betances, José Quintana, Gary Sánchez, Luis Severino, Gleyber Torres, Shane Greene, and Aaron Judge.

Despite the inception of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays in 1998–an eventual division rival of the parent club–the Tampa Yankees continued to make their home in the shadow of the Rays across the Bay. The Tampa Yankees identity ceased to exist following the 2017 season, when the team unexpectedly rebranded as the Tampa Tarpons–an homage to a former minor league team that played in the FSL as recently as 1988.















“Blue,” the team mascot






jose q



Related image